Following on from the success of previous large scales events including ‘Pioneers of Percussion’ and ‘Pioneers of Electronics’, Nonclassical presents ‘Rise of the Machines’.

The centrepiece of the project is an orchestral club night London - developed in collaboration with Southbank Sinfonia - at Ambika P3 (University of Westminster), an underground space in central London. The concert programme includes works that explore the mechanical in orchestral music from different perspectives, culminating in the UK premiere of Gabriel Prokofiev’s Concerto for Turntables, Percussion, Trumpet and Orchestra

Other works include Alexander Mosolov’s Iron Foundry (1927) - the orchestral grandfather of mechanical music – and the brilliant Alarm Will Sound arrangements of electronic wizard Aphex Twin’s Cock Ver. 10 and Blue Calx. The programme also includes the Fifth Movement of Gabriel Prokofiev’s Concerto for Turntables – one of this year’s BBC Ten Pieces. The evening will be conducted by Gerry Cornelius and featured soloists include world champion DJ Mr Switch and percussionist Joby Burgess. 

Also performing will be Klavikon - reimagining electronic music with live techno prepared piano.

£7 (concessions and under 25s) / £15 (general admission) + booking fee
Available here.


Gabriel Prokofiev, Concerto for Turntables, Percussion, Trumpet and Orchestra (UK premiere) 
Aphex Twin, 'Acoustica': Cock ver10
Aphex Twin, 'Acoustica': Blue Calx
Alexander Mosolov, Iron Foundry
Leroy Anderson, The Typewriter
Larry Goves, 'The clouds flew round with the clouds' for orchestra & electronics
Gabriel Prokofiev, Concerto for Turntables and Orchestra (5th movement)
Dmitri Shostakovich, Symphony no. 10 (Scherzo)

Klavikon - solo prepared piano set

Gerry Cornelius, conductor
Mr Switch, turntables
Joby Burgess, percussion
Daniel de Gruchy-Lambert, trumpet