• The Victoria Dalston (map)
  • 451 Queensbridge Road
  • London
  • United Kingdom

Join us for performances by Workers Union Ensemble and SoundKarD and DJ sets by Ben Vince. Includes two world premieres by Paul Whitty and Helen Papaioannou.

Workers Union Ensemble are a talented and exciting new music ensemble with a line-up of oboe, sax, double bass, percussion and piano led by conductor Ben Oliver. 

The Workers Union Ensemble programme celebrates their favourite works from the past 9 years of commissioning new music and showcase the different sights and sounds of WUE from its regular six-piece line-up to three bows on vibraphone and 'junk' instruments. 

SoundKarD are soprano Sarah Dacey, pianist Kate Halsall and composer Duncan MacLeod. They have worked together in various guises, including voice and piano, voice and electronics, harpsichord and electronics and as part of Galvanize Ensemble projects Happenstance and Galvanize for Hack the Barbican.


Workers Union Ensemble:
Seán Clancy - Seven Lines of Music Slow Down and Eventually Stop
Jay Capperauld - Dehumanised Shock Absorbers
Laurence Crane – Old Life Was Rubbish
Helen Papaioannou - Backscatter (new work)
Nick Morrish Rarity - Junk Space

Duncan MacLeod - No Man is an Island
Amber Priestly - Floors are Flowers - Take a Few
Wooden Trees (after John Cage and Laurie Anderson) arr. Kate Halsall
Ryoko Akama - Con.de.structuring
Iain Chambers - I became Mermaid
Catherine LambLineshadow
Paul Whitty Another Field

Tickets £5 (students) / £8 (advance) / £10 (on the door)