15 November: Nonclassical @ Bloc

Nathan Fake (Border Community)

Multi-Story Orchestra with music by Gérard Grisey, Tansy Davies, John Matthias & Nick Ryan


Tom Richards, Steph Horak, Sam Swift-Glasman (Vocals), Áine O'Dwyer (harp)

John Richards presents Mute Synth II


15.11.14 2200 - 0600
Autumn Street Studios
Unit 3; 39 Autumn St, Hackney Wick, London E3 2TT

Tickets (Resident Advisor)

Set List

10.15 - 10.45 // Multistory Orchestra 

10.45 - 11 // Gabriel Prokofiev - Strange Blooms

11.00 - 11.30 // Klavikon

11.40 - 12.10 // Tom Richards

12.15 - 12.45 // Klavikon

12.45 - 12.55 // NC DJs - Gabriel Prokofiev

12.55 - 1.05 // Multistory orchestrations of Nathan Fake pieces

1.05 - 2.05 // Nathan Fake + Elsa Bradley (percussion) + Fra (violin)

2.05 - 2.25 // John Richards + Dominic Butler + Dirty Electronics - Mute Synth II

2.25 - 3.00 // Tom Richards solo set

3.00 - 3.30 // John Richards + strings + dancers : Ribbon and String

3.30 - 4.00 // Gabriel Prokofiev DJ incl Howl

4.00 - 6.00 // Nonclassical DJs

For the centrepiece of our tenth anniversary celebrations, we head to Hackney Wick for an all-night event in collaboration with electronic promoters Bloc.

Headliner Nathan Fake (Border Community) has built a seriously acclaimed reputation in the electronica world over the last decade. His most recent album, Steam Days, intricately combined his two distinctive sonic characteristics: the rich, emotive, pitch-nuanced synthwork of Drowning In A Sea Of Love and his rhythmically dexterous techno drumwork of Hard Islands and other releases. His immersive live shows move between complex rhythmic exercises and liminal harmonic euphoria. He'll be performing with the Multi-Story Orchestra, which promises to add an engaging and unique dimension to the night.

The Multi-Story Orchestra began in 2011 with a groundbreaking performance of Stravinsky’s ‘The Rite of Spring’ at Peckham car park, featuring 100 musicians. It was described by The Times as "the most exciting development in classical music for decades, if not centuries", and the orchestra's summer series now regularly sells out.

As well as premiering a new collaboration with Nathan Fake, they perform Grisey’s spectral masterpiece ‘Périodes’, Tansy Davies’ ‘Neon' and a special performance with John Matthias and Nick Ryan, of their 2006 work ‘Cortical Songs’ - conducted by Christopher Stark.

Klavikon reimagines ‘electronic’ music without the use of conventional processes - no loops, no laptops, no sequencers. Instead, pianist Leon Michener employs a unique system of amplified prepared piano. Augmenting the 88 keys with his own inventions and found objects, he delivers cascading batteries of percussion, sub-basses and abstract soundscapes, an approach connected both to the avant-garde traditions of Stockhausen and Cage, and to the experimental dancefloor idiom and structure of fast-paced techno music. The result is a restless, original performance style that induces trance-like states in its uncompromisingly minimal rhythmic and sonic progressions.

Dirty Electronics presents Mute Synth II: a statement against MPEG culture and places emphasis on an active participant rather than passive consumer. It is born out of Dirty Electronics’ ongoing commitment to DIY approaches and noise aesthetics, and serves as a catalyst for experimenting with electronic sound.

More info on Mute website

Tom Richards performs works based on his research into Daphne Oram's historic Oramics machine within a heavily improvised electronic performance. Two singers and a harpist will bring an acoustic element to the performance, which he processes and manipulates live to produce a fluid and ever-changing soundscape.