Firstly the Nonclassical team would like to say a big THANK YOU to all the remixers for entering such brilliant & creative remixes into this competition. We've been really overwhelmed by the wide range of remixes & also the high quality of entries. It's been almost impossible to decide on a winner as it's very hard to judge the remixes against each other as many have quite different aesthetics and musical aims.

Also, we felt that the remixes that had the most creative approach were not always completely finished pieces of music, and therefore wanted to offer the remixers the chance to do some more work on their remixes.

So, after much thought we've decided to announce 3 WINNERS, one for each of the original compositions and also 3 RUNNERS UP. The runner up tracks are equally as creative as the winners, but just need some extra production finishing (we will be contacting the runners up directly with our feedback).

orginial: GéNIA: G Prokofiev 'Clockwatt'

WINNER: Landesvatter

RUNNER UP: Broken Hours - clock watt

orginial: Azalea Ensemble: Tansy Davies: 'Neon'

WINNER: Diana Salazar

brilliant 'electroacoustic' style remix -

RUNNER UP: Kath Artic

Original: Tempest: Gary Carpenter 'Niederau'

WINNER: Koltur

RUNNER UP: Broken Hours - Niederau


All these 6 remixes will win the prize of being released on a Nonclassical EP or album within the next 9 months, more details to follow.


The Koltur Remix of Niederau will be interpreted LIVE by Consortium5 & Gabriel Prokofiev during the Art of Remix UK tour.

Click here for more details


Finally we would like to give a mention to the following remixers for their brilliant entries:

Denge Sound Mirrors, HOEK, MONDRIAN, Matt Kirk, GABA

1 Comment